STANDING CONFERENCE OF LATIN AMERICAN STUDIES IN THE UK

Constitution

The Standing Conference was established in 1966 to coordinate the development of Latin American Studies in the UK.

 

Mission

The mission of the Standing Conference is to provide a forum for collaboration between member institutions on issues of strategic importance to the field of Latin American Studies, and on their behalf to represent it to outside bodies, including research councils and government policymakers. The Standing Conference is represented by HEFCE as a Learned Society.

 

Membership and Chairmanship

Membership of the Standing Conference is open to one representative of any UK institution where teaching and/or research on Latin America is undertaken by five or more scholars, in one or more departments or disciplines. Applications for membership should be sent to the Chair of the Standing Conference; formal approval will be by majority vote at the next scheduled meeting. Automatic membership will be granted to the President of the Society for Latin American Studies (SLAS) and the Chair of the Society for Caribbean Studies (SCS). The Standing Conference is chaired by the Past President of SLAS, or, in his or her place, the current Vice-President. The Chair is advised by a Steering Committee elected by the members of the Standing Conference.

 

Meetings

Meetings of the Standing Conference normally take place once a year, in the autumn. Meetings will normally be hosted by the Chair’s home institution, which will provide secretarial and some financial support to supplement that provided by SLAS. All members are eligible to vote. Where a binding decision requires a vote of members, this will be on the basis of a majority of those present.

 

Agendas will be circulated to members in advance, as will summary notes of discussions and actions agreed at the previous meeting.

 

Finance

Finances will be monitored by the SLAS Treasurer and will be audited annually by the independent examiner of SLAS.

Institutions interested in joining the Standing Conference should fill in the form, and send it by post or e-mail attachment to the Chair, David Wood (University of Sheffield).

Office 2.32, Jessop West,

1 Upper Hanover Street,

SHEFFIELD, S3 7RA.

CURRENT MEMBERS

Chair (2019 - 21)

David Wood, Past President of the Society for Latin American Studies, University of Sheffield, email: david.wood@sheffield.ac.uk

Steering Committee

David Wood, Past President of SLAS (University of Sheffield)
david.wood@sheffield.ac.uk

 

Linda Newson (ILAS, University of London) 
Linda.Newson@sas.ac.uk

 

Guillermo Olivera (University of Stirling) 
Guillermo.Olivera@stir.ac.uk

 

Eduardo Posada Carbó (University of Oxford)

Eduardo.Posada-Carbo@lac.ox.ac.uk

Ex-officio members

President of the Society for Caribbean Studies

Patricia Noxolo (University of Birmingham) 

P.E.P.Noxolo@bham.ac.uk

 

President of the Society for Latin American Studies

Patience Schell (University of Aberdeen) 

p.schell@abdn.ac.uk

JOINING THE STANDING CONFERENCE

APPROVED MEMBER INSTITUTIONS AND REPRESENTATIVES

Institute of Latin American Studies, UoL: Linda Newson, linda.newson@sas.ac.uk

Kings College, UoL: Vinicius Mariano de Carvalho, vinicius.carvalho@kcl.ac.uk

Aberdeen University: Margaret Bolton, maggie.bolton@abdn.ac.uk

Bristol University: tbc    

Cambridge University: Felipe Hernández, fh285@cam.ac.uk

Edinburgh University: Soledad García Ferrari, s.garcia@ed.ac.uk, and Julie Cupples, julie.cupples@ed.ac.uk

Exeter University: Katie Brown, k.brown4@exeter.ac.uk

Glasgow University: Mo Hume, mo.hume@glasgow.ac.uk, and Eamon McCarthy, eamon.mccarthy@glasgow.ac.uk

Hull University: Paul R. McAleer, paul.mcaleer@hull.ac.uk

Leeds University: Thea Pitman, t.pitman@leeds.ac.uk

Liverpool University: Niamh Thornton, n.thornton@liverpool.ac.uk, and Marieke Riethof, m.riethof@liverpool.ac.uk

Manchester University: Peter Wade, peter.wade@manchester.ac.uk, and Ignacio Aguiló, ignacio.aguilo@manchester.ac.uk

Newcastle University: Patricia Oliart, patricia.oliart@newcastle.ac.uk

Oxford University: Eduardo Posada Carbó, eduardo.posada-carbo@lac.ox.ac.uk

Stirling University: Peter Baker, peter.baker@stir.ac.uk

Swansea University: Lloyd Davies, l.h.davies@swansea.ac.uk

Institute of the Americas, UCL: Katherine Saunders-Hastings, k.saunders-hastings@ucl.ac.uk

Warwick University: Benjamin Smith, b.smith1@warwick.ac.uk

Westminster University: Carl Jones, c.jones@westminster.ac.uk

Photo: Molly Avery. Street art in Xela (Quetzaltenango).